Monday, May 19, 2014

AHS to graduate 135 on Saturday

AHS students from the class of 2013 toss their caps into the air at last year's commencement ceremony. 135 seniors are slated to receive diplomas on Saturday.

Arkadelphia High School will graduate 135 seniors Saturday, May 24, at the Duke Wells HPER Gymnasium on the campus of Henderson State University, according to Principal David Maxwell. The ceremony begins at 10:00 A.M.

Noah Dean McMillion, the son of Amanda and Bud McMillion, will deliver the Summa Cum Laude speech. Noah is a member of the Arkadelphia High School Band where he plays the Trombone. He is also the captain of the Arkadelphia High School State Champion Quiz Bowl Team. Noah is a member of St. Mary’s Catholic Church in Arkadelphia.

The seniors chose Steve Patterson, English Teacher and Coach, to deliver the faculty challenge, which will be responded to by 2013-14 Student Council President, Dalton Owen Huerkamp.

Summa cum laude graduates have earned a GPA of 4.001 or better and a composite ACT score of 21 or better with no sub scores lower than 19. Summa cum laude graduates at the time of publication include the following: Johanna Caroline Baker, Michelle Ashley Carter, Christopher Edward Clark, Madeline Danielle Cook, Jessica Anne Cornelius, Seth Hayden Daniell, Adason Jeanette Franks, Emily Dawn Hilton, Danielle Fong Ho, Dalton Owen Huerkamp, Jacob Austin Knight, Kelsey Marie Kobe, John Franklin Matros, Noah Dean McMillion, Hunter Drake Penfield, Cameron James Ray, Riley Renea Rorie, Callie Elizabeth Smith, Alexa Nicole Spinks, Spencer Elizabeth Tuggle, Michael Austin White, Rachel Leigh White.

Parents of these graduates and of those who achieve Magna cum laude (GPA of 3.750 to 4.000 and a composite ACT score of 20 or better with no sub score lower than 19), Cum laude (GPA of 3.500 to 3.749 and a composite ACT score of 19 or better with no sub score lower than 19), and/or Advanced Diploma status will present medallions to their children who have earned these distinctions.

Senior class officers will direct the welcome, the Pledge of Allegiance, the introductions of McMillion and Patterson, and the closing. Officers include Alec Cole Groom, President; Haley Nicole Harvell, Vice President; ShaNaudakia Hunter, Secretary; Michael Austin White, Treasurer; and Bailey Elizabeth Almond, Reporter.

The AHS JROTC Color Guard will open commencement. The AHS Band, under the direction of Jim Lloyd, will play the processional and the alma mater. Diplomas will be awarded by Dr. Donnie Whitten, superintendent of the Arkadelphia Public Schools, and Mr. David Maxwell, Principal of AHS. Assisting with the diplomas will be Ms. Cheryl Merk and Ms. Carla Narlesky, assistant AHS principals, and Mr. Randy Hicks, Dean of Students.

Escorts for the Class of 2014 will be juniors who have earned the top grade points and include the following: Kaleb Reid, Matt Savage, Sierra Westberg, and Julie Williams.

APS News

Interested in learning more about the Arkadelphia Public Schools? Find us on the webFacebookTwitterissuuVimeo, and YouTube. Graduate to Good Living... We Promise.

No comments:

Post a Comment